Reflection on my presentation

How I came up with my research question:

As I was reading Cleopatra a single question floated through my mind. Where was the corruption? I had always thought that corruption affected every single leader in history because it was physically unavoidable in the world we live in now. But then Cleopatra showed almost no evidence of being corrupted by the power she received. Which made me wonder did power really corrupt every leader? As I went deeper into my research I found out that:

  1. Power itself did not corrupt but the person who handles the power corrupts it.
  2. Corruption only happens when corrupt people abuse their power
  3. Competition caused corruption

These three conclusions that I had deluded from my research made me realize and see Cleopatra and Lord of the Flies in a different way, in fact in made me see everything in a different way. At first I thought that Jack and Ralph had become corrupted by the power that they had over the other kids in ‘Lord of the Flies’ but then I realized after my research that they were not corrupted but in fact they were just being kids, that they did not know better which meant that they shouldn’t be held responsible for the so called ‘corrupt’ actions that they did. Furthermore, reading through Cleopatra also made me wonder how did she not become corrupt? I thought it was quite easy for Cleopatra to let her significant control over Egypt to get to her head and become corrupt but it didn’t which puzzled me to why didn’t she become corrupt? What made her resistant to the temptation? How could she do it?

How I presented my research:

I made an infographic to present all my research. I chose to use an infographic because I think that this is an important message to get through to a lot of people, to make them realize that power does not corrupt so it would be convenient for people who just happened to pass by the inforgraphic to quickly understand the main points from my use of pictures and labels instead of reading a whole essay about it.

My final conclusion:

Power does not corrupt people. Corrupt people abuse power which becomes corruption.

0 comments on “Reflection on my presentationAdd yours →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *